Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum
http://cocktailaudio.co.uk/Forum/

Help to set up Samba
http://cocktailaudio.co.uk/Forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1113
Page 1 of 1

Author:  anandprasad [ Tue Jun 03, 2014 7:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Help to set up Samba

Hi,
I am trying to set up Samba on Windows 7 but so far i'm not getting anywhere.
I have followed the settings in the x10 manual i.e.
There is a good set up guide http://www.swerdna.net.au/susesambawin7.html
And i have done those settings.

I can see the x10 in networks but it is not showing as a computer.
I get an error when i type in the IP address in Run.
See attached

Could it be that i have to disable the webgui first.
Or maybe i have to change the name of my group from homegroup to workgroup?

HELP!!

Attachments:
Network.JPG
Network.JPG [ 37.66 KiB | Viewed 2509 times ]

Author:  freemartial [ Tue Jun 03, 2014 11:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Help to set up Samba

Just search eg PC* or streaming*, you will find many links.
If it doesn't show, just use the RUN option, surely you should know this :)

See: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=842

See: viewtopic.php?f=17&t=58

Author:  anandprasad [ Wed Jun 04, 2014 12:06 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Help to set up Samba

Thanks Freemartial.
But why 'surely'?

Anyway i fixed it.
Not 100% how.
If i remember correctly. In my Windows 7 control >Network and Sharing Cente>View network computer and devices>right clicked on cocktailAudio MediaRenderer>Media Streaming Options> and clicked on something and suddenly the icon for x10 appeared under computer.
Attachment:
network 2.JPG
network 2.JPG [ 31.49 KiB | Viewed 2494 times ]

For other dummies like me, using samba is a bit different to just plugging the PC into the x10 with a USB. You get the same menu but also with a folder LocalStorages which gives you access to hidden folders i.e. the .http folder.
If you drag music to the hdd1 folder it can then be imported to the x10 via the Browser.
I was glad to learn how to do this. It saves having to copy onto a USB device.
There is a Youtube clip https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=audio+x10+samba

Also with Run. First i had to type the \\then the ip address. It works now.

By the way when i search for streaming i get this message
'The following words in your search query were ignored because they are too common words: streaming.
You must specify at least one word to search for. Each word must consist of at least 3 characters and must not contain more than 50 characters excluding wildcards.'

Same goes for many of my searches including Samba. Searching for old Q&A isn't as easy as it appears.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/