Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum

|| www.facebook.com/CocktailAudioUK || www.cocktailaudio.co.uk || www.trustpilot.com/review/cocktailaudio.co.uk ||
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:03 am

All times are UTC


Untitled Document

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 8:59 pm
Posts: 2
Hi There

Have been using my X10 for a week now and am very impressed with it so far.

Only one thing I'm having a problem with and I have scoured the forum for a solution but can only find a "similar" issue in the firmware thread.

I'm using the X10 in wired configuration and it logs on to the router perfectly. The X10 is accessible by other devices on the internal network with no problems. The network settings are all correct and the router returns a correctly working config.

However the "I Service" logo is greyed out , so I can not use Internet Radio , updates etc and obviously none of the internet related functions work. If I reconnect the network or reboot the X10 then the icon comes up green, when I try to access it it goes grey and stays inaccessible.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Neil


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 9:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 8:59 pm
Posts: 2
UPDATE

I've just tried a wireless "dongle" which works OK on my laptop , but the X10 doesn't even recognise the dongle. (Manufacturer Edimax) so I can't check access wirelessly.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 12:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 1:19 am
Posts: 277
Gateway problem....your LAN is ok but has no access to the internet.
Reboot the router or make sure the gateway & DNS are on the same IP range.
Also you have to use the dongle with the same chip as the device.
That is why many media players have their own compatible dongles.
X10 uses a realtek dongle by edimax.
Also Edimax might have another dongles with different chipsets....

Related issue when i searched "gateway" on the forum:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=992&hilit=gateway


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 10:02 am
Posts: 167
I would double-check a few things...

  1. Make sure all the X10 network settings are correct, including setting the Gateway to the IP address of your router (perhaps 192.168.1.1). Do this from Setup -> Network -> Wired Setup.
  2. Try setting an explicit DNS server (in the same place). Pick one like Open DNS or Google's public DNS. (I've had problems with the DNS servers my ISP hands out.)
  3. Double-check that the router has an internet (WAN) connection.
  4. Make sure the router is not blocking outgoing connections for the X10. Some routers include a firewall that can be configured to block individual devices.

Good luck!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 4:33 pm
Posts: 6
I'm having the same issue - which port on the router does the X10 use?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 320
nunhead_man wrote:
I'm having the same issue - which port on the router does the X10 use?


Physical port? eg ethernet port - Network std port? eg port 80
Reset or boot the router ...
Make sure the Cocktail Audio isn't set on static IP (or just set the player to 'factory/default' reset to delete the settings).
Nothing will be lost :idea:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2015 11:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 4:33 pm
Posts: 6
Thanks - OK re port 80 - that is open to the world here

Ignore me - helps to have a network cable that connercts - all working here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron