Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum

|| www.facebook.com/CocktailAudioUK || www.cocktailaudio.co.uk || www.trustpilot.com/review/cocktailaudio.co.uk ||
It is currently Mon Nov 12, 2018 6:40 pm

All times are UTC


Untitled Document

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Connecting X100 to hifi
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 11:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 10:57 pm
Posts: 2
I'm a long time, and happy, X10 user planning to go X100 so I can access streaming services and go up in quality as well.
I connect to a hifi unit and don't use the internal amp.
It's not obvious to me that there's a line out / line in as on the X10 and I'm also not clear on whether the unit will play 192/384 khz files or whether i need to get a DAC.
I see the unit has hdmi - anyone know if that will connect to a tv and show the GUI if I plug in a keyboard or does it need to be through a browser?.... I realise the X10's GUI is quite different and is controllable with a plug in Kbd.
Could anyone advise what the highest resolution it plays at as standard please.
Thanks for your help so I can upgrade in confidence.
Bob


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 5:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 11:35 pm
Posts: 82
The device supports 384 KHz but you need a good amp/dac that can output 384k sounds if you have the music files.
The webGUI is designed for browsers or apps (numerous) accessed via the network connection.
The database is simple too...unlike the older x10 version.
I used to use the x30, x10 & x40 but i opted for the x100 as i prefer the server structure, computer audio & open source part.
What ports do your "hifi unit" have?
See guide/quick guide:
http://cocktailaudio.co.uk/manual.shtml


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 10:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 10:57 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks for getting back to me.
OK, so 384khz will need an external DAC then.
Does it have a facility for analogue output at all to an Amp without a DAC?
Was hoping I could access HQ streamers without additional expense.
HiFi is quite respectable - Naim Pre/Power with standard phono & din sockets through Linn speakers.
X10 is run via mini jacks in and out to the amp's din tape socket letting me transfer vinyl, and old cassettes, across occasionally.
Appreciate the advice you've given me.
Bob


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 11:35 pm
Posts: 82
sorry for the late reply was away
It's got spdif, hdmi, usb & jack output...
You could easily output to your amp if it supports hiRes.
Jack is a bit noisy but ok with it goes thru an amp or dac.
It's not for your typical x10 basic user, this is more for serious audiophiles that appreciate the technology behind computer audio & linking with other systems. The software behind it is very good including the web-interface.
My friend in Israel got me into this model.
NB: This is not for LP transfer it is a streamer + ripper with a webGUi.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:32 am
Posts: 296
Should work fine with naim ...ive tried mine with naim, teac & many other hi-ends like aurender, burmester, moon, marantz, A&K etc
Just depends on your needs, i simply wanted a network streamer to manage my collection & something with a stable ROON service.
The whole musicDB structure on the older models didn't give me freedom and accessibility.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron