Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum
http://cocktailaudio.co.uk/Forum/

connecting x10 to talktalk youview box
http://cocktailaudio.co.uk/Forum/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=1587
Page 1 of 2

Author:  markd70 [ Fri Apr 06, 2018 10:23 pm ]
Post subject:  connecting x10 to talktalk youview box

I have tried to connect x10 to youview tv box so i can play tv sound through the x10 via optical cable and have no sound
Question - is the optical connection on the back of x10 only for output purposes if so how then how can i play the TV sound through the X10??

Author:  FabFreeq [ Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: connecting x10 to talktalk youview box

The only option you have is the line in input.

Author:  markd70 [ Sat Apr 14, 2018 11:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connecting x10 to talktalk youview box

is that the 3.5mm jack, if so then i can't seem to see how i could connect the TV or youview decoder to the X10 !
I think my best option is go for a soundbase on the TV, any suggestions ?
looks like the sonos playbase is the best out there at the moment and would provide the best for expanding

Author:  FabFreeq [ Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: connecting x10 to talktalk youview box

Yes the 3.5mm.Not too sure what you mean, unless your tv is really old then it should have an audio output from it. Either optical or analog or both. The 3.5mm input on the x10 is analog. If you are using an optical output from the tv you will need a DAC, they range from about a tenner to hundreds. No point spending more than a tenner as the amp in the x10 is pants anyway. If going for a soundbase?(sound bar) then you must have an audio output unless you go for the Bluetooth option.

Author:  markd70 [ Thu Apr 26, 2018 10:43 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connecting x10 to talktalk youview box

My TV is about 1 year old has L & R output plus optical plus scart plus hdmi

Basically I would like to listen to the TV from seperate speakers other than the built in ones and also listen to my music on the X10 from the same set of speakers

My tv is network connected so can see all my music on the X10 and has a good interface

Im thinking i will have to buy an external amp that has 2 optical inputs, one for the x10 and one for the TV ?

Anyone have any ideas ?

thank you

TV IS LG 55EG910V

Author:  Clip [ Thu Apr 26, 2018 7:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: connecting x10 to talktalk youview box

Are you just feeding the sound via the aux?
Why do you need another new kit?
If you get an RCA or Y RCA from the box then connect the out into the AUX on the x10 - wouldn't that work?

(I thought you were just passing the sound from the box to the X10)?
Sorry if im not sure of your setup :)

Author:  markd70 [ Fri Apr 27, 2018 2:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: connecting x10 to talktalk youview box

There is no RCA output on the set top box just a spdif !

if i bought a DAC could i use the headphone output on the DAC to connect the aux in on the x10 as the x10 has no L&R input ?

Author:  Clip [ Fri Apr 27, 2018 3:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: connecting x10 to talktalk youview box

Why not just use an SPDIF (box) to AUX cable (X10)?

Author:  markd70 [ Fri Apr 27, 2018 3:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: connecting x10 to talktalk youview box

Clip wrote:
Why not just use an SPDIF (box) to AUX cable (X10)?


Box ?? do you mean DAC ?

Most DACs ive seen only have twin L&R output but the x10 only has one 3.5mm unless i use the headset output on the DAC ?

Author:  Clip [ Fri Apr 27, 2018 3:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: connecting x10 to talktalk youview box

From the YouView box SPDIF OUT sound into the x10 aux IN.
SPDIF to 3.5MM

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/