Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum

|| www.facebook.com/CocktailAudioUK || www.cocktailaudio.co.uk || www.trustpilot.com/review/cocktailaudio.co.uk ||
It is currently Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:10 pm

All times are UTC


Untitled Document

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: spdif
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 4:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 9:39 am
Posts: 6
hi, i am using a dac with my cocktail x10 whats the best spdif setting to use with the dac thank you


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: spdif
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 10:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 307
Not very clear, if you are by passing the internal DAC and spdif would be fine eg toslink, coaxial...if the Dac can do USB that would be even better as its asynchronous. Any digital port is fine.
Are you sending to an AMP or is the DAC an AMP too?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: spdif
PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2015 7:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 9:39 am
Posts: 6
hi i a using the coctail x10 connected to a dacmagic using the toslink, then connecting the dac to a rotel amplifier using the phono socket hope this helps tony


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: spdif
PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2015 9:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 11:41 am
Posts: 116
I would connect via a digital port to the amplifier - coxial or toslink/spidf.
(Unless the amp lacks digital port then phono is fine).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: spdif
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 12:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 10:18 pm
Posts: 15
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
stiff-records wrote:
hi i a using the coctail x10 connected to a dacmagic using the toslink, then connecting the dac to a rotel amplifier using the phono socket hope this helps tony

Do you have any other available inputs on that amplifier? Thing is that the phono stages have RIAA equalization built into them to balance out the pre-emphasis put into the phonograph recording process. Basically, higher frequencies are boosted during recording and then the preamp does the reverse so net is flat frequency response but the hiss and crackle from playing back the album is reduced. What you're likely getting in effect is boosted bass and reduced midrange and even more reduced highs. You're talking a significant differential between lows and highs. Check it out at this wiki.

Any other input, whether it's flagged for tape, aux, or even tuner will be fine. It's only the phono stage that has the equalization.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: spdif
PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 10:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:13 pm
Posts: 1
Hi, probably a bit late now BUT I only just read this thread.

Seems to me the OP was meaning he was going TOSlink to the DACmagic then using a phono cable (plug) input to the amp from the DACmagic and NOT the actual RIAA phono input?

I assume he was actually asking what bit-rate to set for the SP/DIF output from the X10 - IF this is the case I think you will find there is a setting which says Passthrough - which actually bypasses the DAC in the X10 - obviously this is what you need as you are using an external DAC - same as me. I have tested various settings and this is the one that gives the best sound quality as far as I am aware.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron