Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum

|| www.facebook.com/CocktailAudioUK || www.cocktailaudio.co.uk || www.trustpilot.com/review/cocktailaudio.co.uk ||
It is currently Thu Dec 12, 2019 5:25 pm

All times are UTC


Untitled Document

Forum rules


Please don't create ANOTHER topic of a question that already exists look for an akin posts/forum.
For example 'Coping music' will be best posted under 'Exporting/Importing Forum'.
Any duplicate posts will be deleted without a reply.
This will make it easier for other users' to find solutions to their queries.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Disk format
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 1:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 7:18 pm
Posts: 18
When I formatted my X10 HDD (because I need to reload most of my Music DB after extensive editing offline) it created a GPT disk which I now cannot read when I connect my Windows XP Professional computer. How can I create an MBR disk instead when I format? This is the first time I reformatted - when the X10 first arrived it connected OK to my XP xomputer, presumably because it was delivered with an MBR format disk. My firmware is X1-CA-1.4.0r1793. Obviously I can't reformat the disk on my computer because I can't mount a GPT disk on Windows XP.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Disk format
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 12:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 7:18 pm
Posts: 18
OK, apologies. I should have done more online research before asking here. The answer to my question, just in case anyone else has the same problem, can be found at:
http://blog.paulgu.com/windows/delete-g ... partition/

I still wonder why X10 didn't offer me the option when my HDD is below the 2TB limit for MBR partitions; maybe the assumption is that everyone is on Windows 7 or above (although industry surveys suggest 10%-15% of users are still on XP).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Disk format
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 6:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 356
There are many free tools online to convert GTP to MBR, even many videos online too.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron