Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum

|| www.facebook.com/CocktailAudioUK || www.cocktailaudio.co.uk || www.trustpilot.com/review/cocktailaudio.co.uk ||
It is currently Wed Jun 03, 2020 2:10 pm

All times are UTC


Untitled Document

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 11:24 am
Posts: 37
Before I upgraded to Mountain Lion I used to back (exported) up my FLAC music files to a music folder on my MAC. Since I upgraded each backup (export) of music to the Music folder on the Mac has failed. I tried opening a new folder to export but no success. I found the only way to do it was to export to HDD1 then copy over to the original folder I have with my previous back ups. It's not the end of the world but I am just curious if it's the Mac upgrade that has caused the problem. I have Firmware 1669 installed. Many thanks.

_________________
Christina


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 369
Hmmm, why export when you could just back the lot to the folder on your MAC.
Do you use a network shared folder or physical USB connection?
Perhaps the Apple OS has different permissions.
Or try to create the same folder on the new OS.....
The FW 1669 can't block any backup.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 11:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:38 am
Posts: 74
stane wrote:
Hmmm, why export when you could just back the lot to the folder on your MAC.
Do you use a network shared folder or physical USB connection?
Perhaps the Apple OS has different permissions.
Or try to create the same folder on the new OS.....
The FW 1669 can't block any backup.



Did they introduce an incremental backup about then?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 1:19 am
Posts: 279
Yeah,...... surprised you haven't check the release notes.
The last FW b4 the 1669 i think :)
So, if you backup and "re-backup" again, it will only backup the changes.
Mine took like 3 mins only added 5 Flac albums..... :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 2:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 11:24 am
Posts: 37
Hmmm, why export when you could just back the lot to the folder on your MAC.
Do you use a network shared folder or physical USB connection?
Perhaps the Apple OS has different permissions.
Or try to create the same folder on the new OS.....
The FW 1669 can't block any backup.

cajordan
Thank you for the advice but I still cannot backup or export. I use the X10 wirelessly with the original X10 dongle. I have checked that the folder is shared and has permissions. I converted a different CD to MP3 in case FLAC was the problem but no luck. This is the route I try: Export Songs/Net/Imac (my computer)/X10 Music Backup Folder/Export Start/Failed! I tried backup Music DB and get"Cannot Access to Back Up Device" also tried a new folder. My folder X10 Music Backup has all the songs that I exported before I upgraded to Mountain Lion. I have never had a problem with the X10 so maybe something has been changed by this Apple OS.

_________________
Christina


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 2:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 1:19 am
Posts: 279
Just make sure the folder can be mounted via the X10 - place a file small file (one song/track & play it via the X10 to be sure - delete via the X10 menu).
I just did a backup on my network shared folder "success" --- "OK" works fine.
Try booting the router and check permission settings on the new Apple O/S.
Thanks,


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:38 am
Posts: 74
Christina wrote:
Hmmm, why export when you could just back the lot to the folder on your MAC.
Do you use a network shared folder or physical USB connection?
Perhaps the Apple OS has different permissions.
Or try to create the same folder on the new OS.....
The FW 1669 can't block any backup.

cajordan
Thank you for the advice but I still cannot backup or export. I use the X10 wirelessly with the original X10 dongle. I have checked that the folder is shared and has permissions. I converted a different CD to MP3 in case FLAC was the problem but no luck. This is the route I try: Export Songs/Net/Imac (my computer)/X10 Music Backup Folder/Export Start/Failed! I tried backup Music DB and get"Cannot Access to Back Up Device" also tried a new folder. My folder X10 Music Backup has all the songs that I exported before I upgraded to Mountain Lion. I have never had a problem with the X10 so maybe something has been changed by this Apple OS.


Not my advice :-)
I'm a linux and winxp person, so won't be much help ....
Others are saying more learned things though, so watch this space


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 11:24 am
Posts: 37
Cajordan, Sorry I must have gone cross eyed! Thank you ajct and stane. I am about to give up. I have tried everything, switched off and reset router, switched off X10, checked permissions, restored the folder on my Mac where I kept the backup of the music. The folder shows on the X10 but exporting always fails. Tried a new folder but same problem. I can carry on to back up by exporting to Hdd1 then copying over to the music folder on my computer. I am gradually loading CDs onto X10 so it's not difficult. I just wonder if the upgrade had caused compatibility problems as no problem before. Thanks for trying to help me.

_________________
Christina


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 11:13 am
Posts: 273
Wow........Christina why export to HDD1 (waste of time).
What if you don't have enough space to move the files?
Just use SAMBA (enable SAMBA on X10) on MAC (smb://....), this way you will see the X10 (host name) & then you can just dump the files across until the folder thing is sorted.
OR
You could even make the "Music db" shareable on the network, so you could easily access it from your computer.
With Mac i think you go to connect & type the smb://....IP...(to connect).

Good luck :)


Attachments:
mac_smb.jpg
mac_smb.jpg [ 21.29 KiB | Viewed 18540 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:25 pm
Posts: 133
It could be a space issue.
When the X10 works out the space allocated on the network and the music db, is the increment backup enough?
Had a friend whose ripping kept failing (failing msg), until we check his hdd space (via info) and realised he had only 2MB of space left :)
(ripping too many WAV files on a 2TB)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron