Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum
http://cocktailaudio.co.uk/Forum/

Tag Editing problems when Aux recording
http://cocktailaudio.co.uk/Forum/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1264
Page 1 of 1

Author:  taylorbob [ Mon Feb 23, 2015 3:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Tag Editing problems when Aux recording

Having had the amazing X10 for a couple of years i have recently upgraded to the X30 mainly due to the extra storage capacity and the recent firmware update allowing for pausing during analogue recording.

Having all my CD's successfully stored i am now using the X30 to tackle my Cassette and Vinyl collection. As most of my collection are live recordings i prefer to have single file continuous recording which is not available on the X10.

My problem is that recordings where i have not used the pause function work as expected with tag editing and moving to Music DB.
When i have a continuous file that i have paused and resumed in order to move from side A to side B etc all appears to be correct until i try to Tag Edit.

Pressing either tag edit on the remote or through the menu has no effect and returns me to the previous screen of Aux recordings.
I have tried to by pass the tag edit but when i select RIP it states i must tag edit.

I note a while ago in an Admin advisory it was suggested a maximum of 3 hours per single file recording, in my case i have 3 shows that are 87min, 115min and 123min so i can't think it is a space issue.

Any help or advice most welcome

Thanks

Bob

Author:  Admin [ Mon Feb 23, 2015 5:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tag Editing problems when Aux recording

Well the firmware could probably deal with a longer recording now (i think).
Not sure why tag-editing doesn't work well at your end...
What FW is installed?

1. Have you tried moving the file to another folder & then tagging it ?
2. Or just convert the file to FLAC & then tag it.
("Convert Audio Format” option)
I'm sure you know the pause option has been improved (AUX rec).
3. You don't have to use the "rip" option.

Author:  taylorbob [ Mon Feb 23, 2015 7:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tag Editing problems when Aux recording

Thanks Admin

Firmware installed is r0083.

Will try the alternatives suggested and let you know the outcome

Thanks

Bob

Author:  taylorbob [ Wed Feb 25, 2015 4:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tag Editing problems when Aux recording

Thanks for the suggestions, I was unable to activate tag edit when selecting alternative folder but successfully tag edited when using "convert audio format"

The downside being it takes approx 25 to 30 minutes for each file to convert to flac

Hopefully this can be fixed ???

Admin mentioned an update to the pause function, can anyone update me on that ?

Thanks

Bob

Author:  AudioAndrex [ Wed Feb 25, 2015 11:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tag Editing problems when Aux recording

Link no 3 - r0083:
http://cocktailaudio.co.uk/X30FW.shtml
'3. Pause (press pause) during auxiliary or input recording …(stops feed) '

Author:  taylorbob [ Thu Feb 26, 2015 8:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Tag Editing problems when Aux recording

Sorry, following on from Admin,s response I thought there had been an update to the pause function.

Bob

Author:  Admin [ Fri Feb 27, 2015 12:17 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Tag Editing problems when Aux recording

@taylorbob
Tagedit should work....unless there is something wrong with your recorded file.
The example below is 39 min LP.

Attachments:
tagedit.jpg
tagedit.jpg [ 63.72 KiB | Viewed 13292 times ]

Author:  taylorbob [ Sun Mar 01, 2015 2:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tag Editing problems when Aux recording

Following Admin,s last post showing an LP recording of 39 mins and the tag edit function, I have recorded a number of files ranging from 43mins to 137mins.
I can confirm that the files of 43, 46, 59 and 79 mins allow me to tag edit using the menu.
Files of 90 mins 110mins and 137 mins do not allow tag editing so I can only think this is an issue with length of file when using the pause function.
In all cases I have used the pause and on some files two and three times
Yes I can use convert to audio but that can take upwards of 25 mins on large
If this is a software glitch hope it can be updated on the next firmware

Thanks

Bob

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/