Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum

|| www.facebook.com/CocktailAudioUK || www.cocktailaudio.co.uk || www.trustpilot.com/review/cocktailaudio.co.uk ||
It is currently Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:07 pm

All times are UTC


Untitled Document

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:59 am
Posts: 5
Hi admin et all,
I have tried a Sandisk 128GB SSD in my X10, and it doesn't see more than a few KB of space available! Tried the format function, and it fails. So I assume that the firmware doesn't support SSD's at this time. Will it ever?
PS if you going to ask my why I want to use and expensive SSD... (mine was relatively cheap, actually)... well they're silent, quick (not an issue with music playback, I know), and they are lightweight.
Regards,
Rick.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 10:55 am
Posts: 176
As far as i know they are not officially supported. Have you tried formatting it via a PC first, though if it worked you probably would not have the .db partition, something I don't use myself.

_________________
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
Image

http://i.imgur.com/Xq7ih.png


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:59 am
Posts: 5
Yep, tried formatting in the PC, no prob - put in X10 - only sees 14KB still - weird!
Perhaps the X10 can't handle the very fast comms of a SSD - as there is no mechanical latency compared to a HDD... only guessing here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 4:30 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:45 am
Posts: 881
Ah, hadn't noticed this post - sorry.
SSD works fine, what brand are you using?
SSD HDD works with X10.
Even tested one here....Samsung SSD 830 Series(128GB).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 5:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 10:55 am
Posts: 176
Same one I am using as a Windows 8 boot drive on my XPS8300 - lightning fast.

_________________
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
Image

http://i.imgur.com/Xq7ih.png


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 4:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:59 am
Posts: 5
Admin wrote:
Ah, hadn't noticed this post - sorry.
SSD works fine, what brand are you using?
SSD HDD works with X10.
Even tested one here....Samsung SSD 830 Series(128GB).


Hi Admin,
it's a Sandisk SDSSDP-128G-G25

Hope that helps...
Rick.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:15 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:45 am
Posts: 881
Strange, don't have that brand but they are all the same.
Tried a samsung, kingston & intel model all work fine. :o :o :o :?:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 19, 2013 3:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:59 am
Posts: 5
Admin wrote:
Strange, don't have that brand but they are all the same.
Tried a samsung, kingston & intel model all work fine. :o :o :o :?:


Hey Admin, that's what I thought, they should all be the same, being high-speed flash memory with a SATA interface.
Yet my Sandisk 128GB SSD works fine when used with a SATA-USB2/3 interface box when connected to any computer or the X10, it just doesn't seem to "like" being connected to the X10's SATA interface directly. :(
Using a 320GB Samsung HDD inside the X10 now, and leaving the Sandisk SSD in its USB converter box, where it's usable!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: