Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum

|| www.facebook.com/CocktailAudioUK || www.cocktailaudio.co.uk || www.trustpilot.com/review/cocktailaudio.co.uk ||
It is currently Wed May 23, 2018 10:36 am

All times are UTC


Untitled Document

Forum rules


Please don't create a topic for JUST any question, look for an akin post/forum.
For example 'PHP scripts' or webinterface issues will be best posted under 'Web-Interface related Forum'.
Any duplicate posts will be deleted without a reply.
This will make it easier for other users to find the solutions to their queries.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 7:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 4:07 pm
Posts: 16
A strange one this: just recently when I rip CD's to FLAC on my X10, I have a problem hearing any of the music stored on the X10. Once I have finished ripping I try to play any music and although it usually starts, the music cuts out after a few seconds. The time counter on the display shows that the track is moving forward, but there's just no sound. If I play a CD in the X10 everything is as normal.

If I wait a little while (a few minutes up to an hour) the problem goes away and the X10 works as normal.

Has anybody else come across this, or knows what the problem is please? Faulty X10, faulty hard drive?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 3:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 6:56 pm
Posts: 66
Quite strange; try reinstalling the firmware & see...unless there is an error with the ripped file i don't see how the sound could be muted.
Unless you have an issue with your ports (speaker or amp connection).
Check the ports, reinstall the firmware and check the audio settings.
Couldn't be the HDD.
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 7:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 4:07 pm
Posts: 16
Thank you for your comments. I've checked the leads to the amp, speakers etc. and all look OK. I will see if new firmware helps.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 4:07 pm
Posts: 16
I updated the firmware to the latest version, ripped a CD, played it and all seems to be well. Looks like the firmware update did the trick.

Many thanks for your suggestion! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 7:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 4:07 pm
Posts: 16
Sadly, today, the original problem returned after ripping 6 CD's. So it looks as if updating the firmware was a red herring. A workaround is to rip the CD's to FLAC on my computer and upload to the Cocktail Audio.

After doing this the problem disappeared.

Very puzzling and very irritating!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 2:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 331
Are the files playable elsewhere?
Looks like the encoding isn't done right or something to do with the conversion.
It could also be a problem on the HDD in relation to storing the files.
Have you checked the HDD for errors?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: