Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum

|| www.facebook.com/CocktailAudioUK || www.cocktailaudio.co.uk || www.trustpilot.com/review/cocktailaudio.co.uk ||
It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:52 am

All times are UTC


Untitled Document

Forum rules


Please don't create a topic for JUST any question, look for an akin post/forum.
For example 'PHP scripts' or webinterface issues will be best posted under 'Web-Interface related Forum'.
Any duplicate posts will be deleted without a reply.
This will make it easier for other users to find the solutions to their queries.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 8:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 12:38 pm
Posts: 9
Hi there,

I just purchased a Cocktail Audio X12 and I am experiencing some problems.
I have a setup without an internal HD. The Database is located on my NAS. So are most of my musicfiles.
I created some playlists and when I use mp3 format the pl loads very fast. Good!
BUT when using playlists with flacs it takes 3-4- minutes to load the pl! Very frustrating...

FYI: I am talking about playlists located on the NAS, not internal playlists
Even a small pl with a few flacs takes minutes... I was thinking the X12 'hangs' but at the end the music is there...

I tried the obvious things like resetting to factory-defaults.

Update: I even need to load a mp3-playlist first before trying to load a playlist with flacs...
If I don't do that the X12 indeed 'hangs'. And I need to switch the power off to stop and restart the unit.
I just waited for 15 minutes 'loading...' and I killed the process...
==> So I restarted, loaded a mp3-pl. ==> After this I loaded a flac pl in 3 minutes
Very weird and nasty problem...

Any thoughts? Thanks

ArnoR


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 2:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:32 am
Posts: 273
You mean the songs are on the NAS & the links on the NAS too but access via the X12 right?
Would have thought is the network bandwidth or a broken links.
Why not create the links on the X12, i think the unstable software X12 could be the issue!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 3:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 2:31 pm
Posts: 31
Looks like a bandwidth matter, having said that the X12 is too buggy just like the x40 (tested it).
:roll: Same software with different boxes!
That was why i returned it for the Pro X100, the whole DB business is totally awful on the X40.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 8:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 318
I would probably test it with playlists on the NAS & X12 - This way you will be able to figure out the problem.
You could try a different playlist format?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 7:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 12:38 pm
Posts: 9
Thanks for your replies!.
Indeed songs (FLACS) on the NAS and links (playlist) on the NAS too.
Since I do not have a HD installed I can't put the playlist on the X10... or am I missing something here?
So I have tested the same scenario with the DB on a external Harddisk.
I mean: Songs and playlist on the external HD.
==> Exact same issue. Works very slow with flacs and very fast with MP3.
Bandwith is OK. Wired connection. I am sure that bandwith is not the problem here.
Different format is not possible I guess... I have all my music in FLAC and would like to keep it that way.

I did read about the Pro X100. I am afraid that machine is not for sale (yet?) in Holland.
Any other thoughts or would someone here be so kind to test the same issue?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 10:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:32 am
Posts: 273
Try a playlist format not files (different format).
I would suggest putting the links on a USB stick whilst the songs are on the server/NAS.
Can you create a single playlist with multiple files (perhaps that might help)?
Create one & import it, not sure if the x12 supports that!
x12 - not very stable :?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 10:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 12:38 pm
Posts: 9
I did try pl format instead of m3u today... Same problem.
Also tried m3u8 format. Same issue.

It seems to me that it is just a nasty (and unknown?) bug...
Where can I post this problem as a bug?


Last edited by ArnoR on Thu Aug 18, 2016 2:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:25 pm
Posts: 132
:o
Post at the suggestion thread.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 9:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 12:38 pm
Posts: 9
Hi,
My problem is solved by using pls format of playlists.
(=> Apparently my first test with this pls format was not ok. I had the path wrong I guess)

Anyhow: Playlists play fast enough now. I am relieved...
Still very puzzled about the behaviour with M3U files but at least there is a proper workaround now.
Thanks to those who were trying to help. ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron