Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum

|| www.facebook.com/CocktailAudioUK || www.cocktailaudio.co.uk || www.trustpilot.com/review/cocktailaudio.co.uk ||
It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:55 am

All times are UTC


Untitled Document

Forum rules


Please don't create a topic for JUST any question, look for an akin post/forum.
For example 'PHP scripts' or webinterface issues will be best posted under 'Web-Interface related Forum'.
Any duplicate posts will be deleted without a reply.
This will make it easier for other users to find the solutions to their queries.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2016 7:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:55 pm
Posts: 45
The disk that came originally with the X10 is a Samsung 1TB 7200rpm 32M.

Model HD103SJ SATA 2.

My knowledge of disks is not very good.

Why do you suggest not getting 7200rpm drive?

And are you suggesting that there are special disks for media players?

I didn't know that. I thought any drive would do.

The WD site says that the RED is Designed and tested for RAID environments. Is that what I want?

Since attempting Recovery which stopped when the X10 screen went dead, when I connect the X10 to my pc with the supplied cable it goes into USB MODE, but the X10 does not show as a drive on my pc.

Thoughts appreciated


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2016 9:24 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:45 am
Posts: 882
It doesn't really matter if you have a 7200rpm but for media boxes you don't need a faster rpm,
Just get any 5400rpm (or a blue WD) it will work better for the cocktail audio, you need to utilise the hardware & the HDD aptly.
For PCc 7200rpm & higher is fine ...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2016 5:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:55 pm
Posts: 45
Hi Site Admin

I have placed an order for the WD Red as you suggested.

One question. This disk comes with Advanced Format.

Can the X10 deal with this?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2016 4:59 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:45 am
Posts: 882
Most devices work with AF.
The HDD would be uninitialised.
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:55 pm
Posts: 45
But does the X10 work with AF.

I know the disk will come uninitialized, but the physical sector size with already be set to 4k.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: