Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum

|| www.facebook.com/CocktailAudioUK || www.cocktailaudio.co.uk || www.trustpilot.com/review/cocktailaudio.co.uk ||
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 1:48 am

All times are UTC


Untitled Document

Forum rules


Please don't create a topic for JUST any question, look for an akin post/forum.
For example 'PHP scripts' or webinterface issues will be best posted under 'Web-Interface related Forum'.
Any duplicate posts will be deleted without a reply.
This will make it easier for other users to find the solutions to their queries.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 8:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:55 pm
Posts: 45
hello

I was playing tracks from my X10 when it suddenly froze mid track. Since the unit was unresponsive, the only thing I could do was to switch off the power using the switch at the back of the unit.

Now when I power up everything looks normal for a while.

If I go into MusicDB I get Query Error message.

I did a ntfs fix and it said ok.

I can go into browser and see the disk and get info on it.

But after a while the screen just blanks and the unit becomes unresponsive.

Suggestions to fix this would be appreciated. I have around 650 CDs recorded onto this machine.

I do have another X10, I was thinking of taking out the possible broken disc and placing it in the other unit to check whether it is a disk issue.

Thoughts?


I did indeed put the "bad" disc into the working unit and the same problems appeared, so I guess the disk is screwed or the Music Database has an issue.

Should I try running a recovery?

I connected the "bad" X10 to my pc via the supplied USB cable and a message came up on the pc saying that the connected drive may have some problems with some of the files on it and asks me whether I want to scan the device and fix them.

Advice please

I went into the "bad" disk without scanning and fixing and then into .db. I can see all my music files.

Does this imply there is something wrong with the database or the hard drive?

What next?

What worries me is that the screen goes blank after a while.

I can even play tracks from the "bad" drive on my pc

Suggestions please?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 6:56 pm
Posts: 61
Could be that the x10 can't read the on the HDD.
Can you see the HDD1 icon from the browser (eg home screen, browser, HDD1)?
Do you have a backup?
Can you access NTFS fix from setup?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 7:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:55 pm
Posts: 45
As you can see from my original post, the NTFS worked and I can see the HDD1 from the browser but quickly after that the screen goes blank.

BTW I am still running the 1692 firmware.

I do have a backup, but it is not up to date.

I was wondering if there is something wrong with the database, eg bad index.

Should I try a DB recovery/

Should I try loading the lastest firmware?

Update

I decided that it might be a good idea to do a new backup from scratch.
With everything connected I tried to backup to an empty external hd. The X10 displayed a message something about Now Converting. Try Later. Then the screen went blank.

Not sure why it thinks its converting because nothing new has been loaded on the X10 for about 2 years


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 5:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 6:56 pm
Posts: 61
You can locate the album & delete it!
or run a recovery to remove the junk data.
Hence you have some old data or a conversion error (problem file) that has halted the process.
Remove the file & you will be okay.
It is not an issue, but can be a nuisance sometimes.
That is why we decided not to do conversions on the cocktail audio pro x100 & mini x-9 anymore.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 4:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:55 pm
Posts: 45
how do I locate the album without doing a recovery?

Why would this cause the screen to go blank?

What happens if the screen goes blank during recovery?

This database has not changed for many months, maybe even a year.

All albums were ripped as WAV.

And don't forget, this all started when the X10 froze whilst play an album and the only option was to switch off using the switch as the rear.

Also this does not give any response:

If you wish to check the information and the status of the conversion process for the whole of the
Music DB of the X10, go to the home screen. Place the cursor on the Music DB icon and Press the
INFO key.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 1:13 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:45 am
Posts: 882
well perhaps i could answer this...
jxr35408 wrote:
how do I locate the album without doing a recovery?
>>There are lots of notes on the conversion method on this forum.
However it only does one album at a time (each track), hence it could be the last album on the list.
I would sort it chronologically - (Use the SORT button).


See here: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=131

Why would this cause the screen to go blank?
>> It may just be superfluous data on the musicdb causing the screen to go "blank" due to the dead link.
Doing the recovery will delete it for you.


What happens if the screen goes blank during recovery?
>> Nothing, depends on the songs being a broken link or entities.

This database has not changed for many months, maybe even a year.
All albums were ripped as WAV.
And don't forget, this all started when the X10 froze whilst play an album and the only option was to switch off using the switch as the rear.
Also this does not give any response:
If you wish to check the information and the status of the conversion process for the whole of the
Music DB of the X10, go to the home screen. Place the cursor on the Music DB icon and Press the
INFO key.
>> hmmm, do the stuff above & see :)



Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 5:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:55 pm
Posts: 45
Thanks for the reply.

I will try deleting the last album, but I think the screen may go blank before I get to that option.

If the screen goes blank during a recovery, is the recovery still working in the background or is the unit stopped dead in its tracks?

One more thing, the user manual states

TIP ② 】 X10 supports 3.5” SATA(1/2) hard disk and up to two(2) TeraBytes

Does this mean that SATA 1 and 2 are supported and not SATA 3?

If it came to replacing the HD only SATA 3 seem to be available nowadays.

I tried to do a recovery, it started but then the screen went blank after about 2 mins. Does that mean that Recovery is not now running and I should power down?

I connected to pc and found that the last album was called Big. However, how can I delete this when I get Query Error when going into MusicDB?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 12:28 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:45 am
Posts: 882
The notes are old, supports SATA 3
As i stated the link could be broken, thus do the recovery will sync it** (remove junk data).
"A Blank screen" would halt the operation - hence the file or the link could be junk or out of sync.
Query error means the device can't read the HDD - either the HDD needs to be formatted, checked for errors or the HDD is faulty.
If you edit stuff on a PC the screen will crash (blank), because the sql file isn't in sync** with the files on the hard drive (Music DB).
That is why it has to be imported via the menu & not just dumped into the music db (.DB).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 6:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:55 pm
Posts: 45
Thanks for your reply Site Admin.

Since there is no way that I can run recovery before the screen blanks, and since I cannot delete the last added album because of Query Error, there seems to be no way around the problem.

Can a chkdsk be run on the unit used as a mass storage device? Would that help?

What are you suggestions now.

Format HD. Run chkdsk. Load out of date backup (could the backup also contain the junk that is causing the problem?).

Is there no in-house checker available for use to check status of DB when the X10 is connect as a mass storage device?

Your suggestions appreciated.

Lastly, you say that SATA 3 is supported. Does that mean I get 600G/s or will my mother board limit it to SATA 2, 300G/s?

What brand of HD has the best reliability in your experience?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 4:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:45 am
Posts: 882
Get any SATA HDD not 7200 rpm something 5K lower & for media players or a WD RED would be ok too.
Can't you just connect the HDD to your PC & check the last album? (if it has junk inside the music folder)
It could also be the SQL file (out of sync with the physical entity - music folders).
You seem to know what you are doing...(just find a way to backup the data or check the HDD if it isn't faulty, as it could be a partition error).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron